Best crypto staking platform in Europe: 4 licensed picks
For EU residents who want to stake crypto: 4 MiCA-licensed exchanges compared on custody, fees and risks. Coinbase keeps 35% of the staking rewards on ETH.
- 01 Visit KrakenNo partnership: we earn nothing from this link.Best overall for staking in the EUKraken
Staking sits in the same MiCA-licensed account as your spot crypto, under the Central Bank of Ireland, and Kraken published an independently checked proof of reserves for 30 June 2026. Its commission isn't in our data, so check the rate in the app.
CryptoMiCA licence (Central Bank of Ireland) - 02 Visit BitvavoNo partnership: we earn nothing from this link.Best for staking alongside euro buysBitvavo
Free iDEAL, Bancontact and SEPA deposits and 0.15%/0.25% trading fees under an AFM licence. The catch: Bitvavo says its staking and lending are not regulated under MiCA, and it lost access to €280 million lent to Genesis in 2022.
CryptoMiCA licence (AFM (Netherlands)) - 03 Visit CoinbaseNo partnership: we earn nothing from this link.Clearest staking commissionCoinbase
The only pick that publishes its cut: 35% of staking rewards on assets such as ETH, SOL and ADA, less for Coinbase One members. Trading fees are high, at 0.60%/1.20% on Coinbase Advanced.
CryptoMiCA licence (CSSF (Luxembourg)) - 04 Visit Crypto.comNo partnership: we earn nothing from this link.Staking inside an all-in-one appCrypto.com
Staking, a prepaid Visa card and 400+ coins in one MiCA-licensed app from Malta. Crypto.com itself states that its Earn and staking products are not regulated under MiCA, and app buys cost 0.8% plus a spread.
CryptoMiCA licence (MFSA (Malta))
The order is our ranking for this goal and never depends on who pays us. How we rank.
The best crypto staking platform for most EU residents is Kraken. Staking runs in the same MiCA-licensed account as your spot crypto, supervised by the Central Bank of Ireland, and Kraken published an independently checked proof of reserves for 30 June 2026. Bitvavo is the simplest choice if you buy in euros, Coinbase is the only pick that publishes its commission, and Crypto.com suits people who want staking, a card and trading in one app.
Staking adds risks that buying alone doesn’t: staking products are often outside MiCA protection, as Bitvavo and Crypto.com state themselves, staked assets can be locked, and validators can be penalised. We don’t quote reward rates or yield figures, because they change constantly and a high rate says nothing about the risk. We checked every licence, fee and statement on the providers’ official pages on 23 October 2026. Crypto-assets can lose all their value.
Key takeaways
- Kraken is our best crypto staking platform overall: buying and staking in one MiCA-licensed account.
- Bitvavo suits euro buyers, but says its staking and lending are outside MiCA.
- Coinbase publishes its cut: 35% of staking rewards on ETH, SOL and ADA.
- Crypto.com puts staking in an all-in-one app, but also says it isn’t regulated under MiCA.
- Custodial staking means trusting the exchange’s custody and security, and no compensation scheme covers crypto.
How we chose the best crypto staking platforms
We compared crypto staking platforms that are MiCA-licensed and open to residents of the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium and Ireland. Since the MiCA transitional period ended on 1 July 2026, only authorised providers may offer crypto services in the EU, so a licence was a hard filter.
We then ranked the reputable platforms that passed on four points:
- Custody and security: who holds your staked assets, how recent the proof of reserves is, and any hacks or regulatory action.
- Transparency: whether the commission and terms are published, and whether the product is inside MiCA.
- Provider risk: real on-chain staking, or lending your coins to a third party?
- Everyday costs: deposit and trading fees, since you usually buy the digital assets on the same platform.
We didn’t rank by the highest APY. Our full method is on the methodology page.
The 4 best crypto staking platforms in Europe
These four exchanges offer staking services under a MiCA licence and score best on custody, transparency and costs. Each has a catch.
1. Kraken: best overall for staking in the EU
Kraken lets you buy, hold and stake crypto in one account under an Irish MiCA licence. Payward Europe Solutions Limited was authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland on 25 June 2025 and is passported to every EEA country. Kraken lists 600+ assets (counted from its public API), though not every coin can be staked.
Its Merkle-tree proof of reserves, checked by an independent accountant, was last published for 30 June 2026. One point in its record concerns staking: in 2023 Kraken paid $30 million to settle SEC charges over its US staking-as-a-service programme and ended that programme for US users. That settlement applied to the US, not to its EU service.
The catch: our data shows neither Kraken’s staking commission nor whether its staking falls under the MiCA licence, so check both in the app. Buying costs 1% plus a spread in the Kraken app, or 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker on Kraken Pro. Read the Kraken review.
2. Bitvavo: best for staking alongside euro buys
Bitvavo is the easiest place to stake crypto if you buy in euros. Deposits by iDEAL, Wero, Bancontact and SEPA are free, trading costs 0.15% maker and 0.25% taker, and the Dutch AFM authorised Bitvavo under MiCA on 26 June 2025.
Bitvavo is open about the limits: it says its staking and lending (Earn) products are not regulated under MiCA. In 2022 it also lost access to about €280 million lent to Genesis for off-chain staking, though it said customer withdrawals weren’t affected.
The catch: staking sits outside its MiCA licence, and its commission isn’t in our data. More in our Bitvavo review.
3. Coinbase: clearest staking commission
Coinbase is the only pick that publishes what it keeps. Coinbase lets users stake ETH, SOL, ADA and other digital assets for a standard commission of 35% of staking rewards, lower for Coinbase One members. Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. has been MiCA-licensed by the CSSF since 20 June 2025, and SEPA deposits and withdrawals are free.
The catch: 35% is a large share of your rewards, trading fees are high at 0.60% maker and 1.20% taker on Coinbase Advanced, and the Central Bank of Ireland fined Coinbase in 2025 and 2026.
4. Crypto.com: staking inside an all-in-one app
Crypto.com combines staking with a prepaid Visa card, 400+ coins and trading in one app. EEA users are served by Foris DAX MT Limited, MiCA-authorised by the MFSA in Malta in January 2025, and SEPA deposits are free.
Like Bitvavo, Crypto.com states that its Earn and staking products are not regulated under MiCA. In 2022 attackers bypassed two-factor authentication on 483 accounts and withdrew about $34 million, which Crypto.com says it reimbursed.
The catch: app buys cost 0.8% plus an unpublished spread, and its proof of reserves dates from 2022. Read the Crypto.com review.
Crypto staking platforms compared
This table compares the seven MiCA-licensed exchanges in our data that offer staking, checked on 23 October 2026. Many staking platforms don’t publish their commission: we found none except Coinbase’s.
| Platform | MiCA licence | Staking | Says staking is outside MiCA | Published commission | Proof of reserves |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kraken | Central Bank of Ireland | Yes | Not stated | Not in our data | 30 June 2026 |
| Bitvavo | AFM | Yes | Yes | Not in our data | 31 March 2026, selected assets |
| Coinbase | CSSF | Yes | Not stated | 35% (ETH, SOL, ADA) | No Merkle tree |
| Crypto.com | MFSA | Yes | Yes | Not in our data | 7 December 2022 |
| OKX | MFSA | EEA terms not verified | Not stated | Not in our data | Monthly |
| Bybit EU | FMA | Earn, after ID checks | Not stated | Not in our data | 23 September 2026 |
| Gate EU | MFSA | Terms not verified | Not stated | Not in our data | Hacken audit, 2024 |
OKX, Bybit EU and Gate EU offer staking options, but we couldn’t verify their EU terms, so they aren’t ranked. Bitpanda is licensed, but staking isn’t in our data for it.
Why crypto staking in Europe is often outside MiCA
A MiCA licence covers services such as custody, exchange and transfers; it doesn’t automatically cover every product an exchange sells. Bitvavo and Crypto.com both say their staking products are not regulated under MiCA, so the licence’s protections may not apply to your staked coins.
Investor compensation doesn’t fill the gap: the Dutch central bank confirms crypto-assets aren’t covered, and deposit guarantees exclude crypto too. If a provider fails, you are a creditor, not a protected investor.
How crypto staking works
Staking means locking coins to help secure a proof of stake network in return for rewards. In a proof of stake consensus mechanism, validators put coins at stake to validate transactions and propose new blocks; the chain pays rewards for honest work and penalises bad behaviour. Our glossary explains proof of stake.
There are two main ways to stake crypto:
- Custodial staking: an exchange holds your coins and private keys and stakes them through its own staking infrastructure or a partner validator. You earn rewards minus its commission, and you carry the exchange’s custody and security risk.
- Non-custodial staking: you stake directly from your own wallet by delegating to a validator, or run your own node. Running your own Ethereum validator requires 32 ETH; delegating usually needs a far lower minimum amount.
Liquid staking and DeFi protocols
Liquid staking lets you stake and still hold a tradable token. Liquid staking protocols such as Lido and Rocket Pool issue liquid staking tokens, such as Lido’s stETH tokens, for your staked ETH, allowing users to maintain liquidity.
The trade-off is extra risk: smart contracts can contain bugs, a liquid staking token can trade below the value of the coin behind it, and these DeFi protocols have no MiCA licence. Chasing additional yield by lending the token on to other protocols stacks one risk on another.
Lock-up periods and slashing risk
Lock up periods are the most practical risk: while coins are staked or unbonding, you may not be able to sell them, even in a falling market. Some networks have an unbonding period, and some exchange products lock coins for a fixed term.
Slashing is the second risk. If a validator misbehaves, for example by signing conflicting blocks, the network can destroy part of the stake. Exchanges pick validators for you, so check who bears slashing losses in the terms; our data doesn’t include those terms for any exchange. See our glossary entry on slashing.
Provider risk: lessons from Genesis and Gemini Earn
The biggest staking-related losses in our data came from lending, not from networks. Bitvavo’s €280 million lent to Genesis for off-chain staking became inaccessible in 2022. Outside the EU, Genesis, the lending partner behind Gemini Earn, froze withdrawals in November 2022, and users’ funds stayed locked until an in-kind recovery in May and June 2024.
The lesson: check whether a product is real on-chain staking or a loan of your coins to a third party, because a single point of failure changes the risk completely.
Why we don’t rank by the highest APY
A high advertised rate is not a reason to pick a staking platform. Rates change with the network, can include promotions, and are often paid in a token whose value can fall faster than rewards build up; market volatility can wipe out a year of yield generation in a day. Compare net staking rewards after commission, and if one provider promises higher rewards for the same coin, ask what it does with your coins.
Institutional staking versus retail staking
This page covers retail staking. Institutions usually stake through specialist custodians with institutional grade custody, approval workflows and governance controls, and run due diligence on each validator. Ask the same questions on a smaller scale: who holds the keys, who picks the validator and who pays if something goes wrong.
Why Binance, KuCoin and others are missing
Several well-known providers aren’t ranked because they can’t serve EU residents under MiCA.
- Binance: no MiCA licence; since 1 July 2026 EU users can only withdraw, and Earn is suspended.
- KuCoin: its EU company is licensed, but the FMA said on 18 May 2026 it may not start operating yet.
- Bitget: only an application with the FMA; residents of Germany, France and Austria are barred.
- MEXC: no MiCA licence, an AFM warning of 16 September 2025 and an operator registered in the Comoros.
- Gemini: closed all EEA accounts on 6 April 2026.
For a ranking on custody and track record alone, see the most secure crypto exchanges.
Tax on staking rewards
How staking rewards are taxed depends on where you live, so keep a record of every reward. In the Netherlands, box 3 taxes a fixed notional return on assets held on 1 January (6.00% on investments and other assets for 2026, taxed at 36% above €59,357 per person), and staked coins count towards that total. Other countries may tax rewards as income at their fair market value when you receive them.
How to choose the best place to stake crypto
The best place to stake crypto is licensed where you live, supports the coin you want and explains its terms. Before you stake:
- Check the provider in ESMA’s MiCA register and confirm it serves your country.
- Find the commission, the minimum amount and any lock-up period for your coin in the app.
- Read whether the product is on-chain staking or lending, and whether it’s inside MiCA.
- Start small and test an unstake and withdrawal before staking more.
Our verdict on the best crypto staking platform
Kraken is the best crypto staking platform for most EU residents: staking and spot crypto in one MiCA-licensed account, with a recent proof of reserves. Bitvavo suits euro buyers, Coinbase anyone who wants a published commission, and Crypto.com people who want an all-in-one app.
Treat staking as an extra layer of risk, not a savings account, and read the terms before you lock anything away.
Questions people ask
What is the best crypto staking platform in Europe?
For most EU residents, Kraken: staking runs in the same MiCA-licensed account as your spot crypto, and its proof of reserves was last checked for 30 June 2026. Bitvavo is simpler if you buy in euros, and Coinbase is the only pick that publishes its commission.
Is crypto staking a good idea?
It can earn rewards on coins you already plan to hold, but it adds lock-up, slashing and provider risk on top of price risk, and it is often outside MiCA protection. Only stake coins you can afford to lose.
Can I unstake my crypto at any time?
It depends on the network and the product. Some networks have an unbonding period, and some exchange products lock coins for a set term. Liquid staking tokens can be sold, but may trade below the value of the staked coin.
How much does Coinbase charge for staking?
Coinbase's standard staking commission is 35% of rewards for assets such as ETH, SOL and ADA, and lower for Coinbase One members. See our Coinbase fees page for its other costs.